Primary School

Living And Learning As One

Digital Competence Framework

Digital Competence Framework (DCF) / Fframwaith Cymhwysedd Digidol

Digital competence is one of 3 cross-curricular responsibilities, alongside literacy and numeracy.

It focuses on developing digital skills which can be applied to a wide range of subjects and scenarios. The Framework, which has been developed by practitioners from Pioneer Schools, supported by external experts, has 4 strands of equal importance, each with a number of elements.


Citizenship – which includes:

○ Identity, image and reputation

○ Health and wellbeing

○ Digital rights, licensing and ownership

○ Online behaviour and cyberbullying.


Interacting and collaborating – which includes:

○ Communication

○ Collaboration

○ Storing and sharing.


Producing – which includes:

○ Planning, sourcing and searching

○ Creating

○ Evaluating and improving.


Data and computational thinking – which includes:

○ Problem solving and modelling

○ Data and information literacy.


Schools and settings should familiarise themselves with the framework, agreeing their strategic vision for cross-curricular digital competence and consider how to translate this into practice. For more information, visit the Learning Wales website by clicking the link here.